Thomas S. Monson, Maddox Restaurant, and Dinner….

Thomas_S_MonsonSince my grandmother passed away a few weeks ago I’ve been stopping in to see my grandfather each week on my way home from work. I love the visits. I ask him a bunch of questions and he tells stories to answer. I’m learning a lot… For example:

Years ago Grandma and Grandpa were enjoying a meal at Maddox (if you live anywhere near Northern Utah and don’t know Maddox, stop reading, get up from your chair, and drive to Brigham City right now…get this problem solved). I don’t know what Grandpa was eating, but Grandma had ordered seafood. Apparently she wasn’t super experienced with cracking crab legs* open, etc., and was having a little trouble. Grandpa was busy with his meal so he didn’t really realize that Grandma was struggling.

All of a sudden they hear an older gentleman’s voice from behind them. The man said, “I’m sorry and I don’t want to interfere, but I noticed that your wife was having a little trouble opening that crab of hers. Can I help?” With Grandma and Grandpa’s permission, the kind old man gets Grandma’s meal all cracked and ready to eat. My grandparents introduce themselves and thank him and he introduces himself…

“I’m Tom Monson. I was in Logan speaking to a group of young people and I’m heading back to Salt Lake, but I always like to stop and eat at Maddox. Again, hope I’m not interfering…”

An Apostle of the Lord had cracked open my grandmother’s crab legs so she could eat it more easily.

It wasn’t a big deal, but I’m afraid that if I noticed someone struggling to crack their crab legs open, I wouldn’t think to go and “interfere”…and I’d miss a chance to serve.

I’m thankful for President Monson’s example and willingness to help others, even in small ways.

Be Encouraging…

BJM

*There was some question about whether Maddox has ever served crab. Great question. So I contacted Maddox and inquired. Here was their reply: “Brian, Crab legs are not a regular menu item for us but we have ‘specialed’ them in the past.  We usually run crab legs or lobster specials on holidays (valentine’s day, mother’s day, etc) so it is a possibility.”Thomas_S_Monson

8 thoughts on “Thomas S. Monson, Maddox Restaurant, and Dinner….

  1. I am reading this with tears, not just missing Mom, but grateful you care enough to visit your grandpa and learn if his history…..

  2. A friend of mine passed this on to me because she knew I would appreciate it. My stepdad, Steve Maddox, passed away a little over a year ago and I love to hear others’ memories of his restaurant to remind me of him. Some of his favorite and funniest memories of work were the times when apostles and prophets stopped by. What a sweet story of your grandparents. And what a sweet man President Monson is. Thank you for sharing!

    1. Well I’m glad this story made it all the way to you 🙂 I would imagine there are thousands of people with thousands of memories at the tables of Maddox. A blessing to our community and state!

    2. I would love to hear more Maddox stories, Jessica, if you are willing to share. The Elder who taught my family the Gospel is from Garland. My folks joined the church in Detroit in the 1960’s. When I was 12 we moved from Detroit out to Brigham; this because the Garland Elder recommended that my dad put a resume in at Thiokel, a job he happily was given. Brigham is dear to me and I visit the temple there when time permits. My husband and I make the trip down from Idaho, go to Maddox in the evening, spend the night at our dear Elder’s place (we have kept in contact all these years) and attend the temple in morning, then head home. Maddox is part of our tradition. My favorite waitress, Laura Chappell, no longer works there but she was a special part of our Maddox experience. My high school friend, Diane has hostessed there for many years. I’ve always hoped to bump into an Apostle there but have yet to! 🙂

  3. I had the opportunity to meet Thomas Monson much the same way… I was standing in line at the Maddox about ten years ago, and he walked in, shook my hand and asked me if I was hungry, told me that this was a great place to eat, and then went on to join his dinner party.

    It makes me wonder how many times I’m in too much of a hurry to be friendly or to put a smile on a stranger’s face as I go about my own business…

Leave a comment