Pinterest and Personal Revelation…

pinterestOk, yes, I have a Pinterest. Or better said, I’m on Pinterest. However you say it. I have an account with Pinterest (yes, that sounds better…). I suppose that Pinterest may have started as a little more female-centered but over the months more and more people, regardless of gender, have found Pinterest to be a great way to keep track of things they like.

I use Pinterest to keep track of all kinds of things including things to do in the yard, LDS ideas, and especially photography. I also use it to keep track of clothes I want to buy for Janese (points for me, I know). It makes it easy to find (and re-find) the things and ideas that I discover and value. Go ahead, check out my Pinterest boards if you’re bored…

When we keep track of things, it shows that we value it.

The same principle applies to spiritual communications. What do we do with spiritual thoughts, impressions and personal revelations and experiences? If we can’t immediately act on a prompting, or we need the prompting to be a bit more clear before we act upon it, how do we show we value it?

richard-g-scott-largeElder Richard G. Scott spent an hour teaching people at BYU’s Education Week back in 2007. During his talk, he taught the following principle and asked people to write it down:

Throughout the remainder of my life, I will seek to learn by what I hear, see, and feel. I will write down the important things I learn, and I will do them. (“To Learn and to Teach More Effectively” 2007)

In fact, he taught them that if he ended the presentation at that point, they would know what they needed to know to bless their lives from that point on. I have found that what Elder Scott taught that day is true. He also shared:

Write down in a secure place the important things you learn from the Spirit. You will find that as you record a precious impression, often others will come that you would not have otherwise received. Also, the spiritual knowledge you gain will be available throughout your life. Always, day or night, wherever you are, whatever you are doing, seek to recognize and respond to the direction of the Spirit. Have available a piece of paper or a card to record such guidance. (“To Learn and to Teach More Effectively” 2007)

If you’re used to “pinning” great ideas, pictures, explanations, etc., this idea isn’t foreign to you. When something comes up on your screen that you want to remember and eventually act upon, you “pin” it. The same is true for spiritual things. When you learn truth through what you hear, see, or feel through the influence of the Holy Ghost, record it somewhere safe. That act shows that you value that impression and you are qualified for more impressions to continue.

Can you imagine what Heavenly Father must think when, while almost asleep in bed, you turn the light back on in your room to record a spiritual thought or impression because you don’t want to forget it and you want to act on it? That act alone shows how you value the impression and desire more.

I’ve always written in a journal. My journal is now on Google Drive, and I have the app for Google Drive on my iPad and iPhone. At night, as I’m reviewing the day’s events, I take a few minutes to record some of the impressions and observations of the day. I record spiritual experiences and moments that prove that God has had a hand in my life that day. As I’ve done that, the Spirit has quietly testified to me that Heavenly Father knows and loves me and my family. I’m thankful for the chance to “pin” spiritual things!

Be Encouraging…

BJM

3 thoughts on “Pinterest and Personal Revelation…

  1. rdolsen

    Thanks Brian. I’ve been slacking some with my journal lately. I also end up with impressions recorded in one of several different places, journal, scriptures, post-it notes on my desk, on the back of my Sacrament Meeting program just to name a few. This has renewed my determination to record impressions more consistently and be more careful where they end up. I am also considering Pinterest……maybe:)

    Reply
  2. Alex Barlow

    Last year I started journaling regularly and it has blessed my life immensely. It is so true that the more you record your spiritual impressions the more Heavenly Father will give them to you.

    I’m also reminded of President Eyrings experience when he received a strong impression about journaling, that his experiences weren’t just happening for his benefit and that he needed to write them down so that others could learn and grow from them as well. Great post!

    Reply
  3. mommick

    A huge regret…..not journaling when sons were young. Grateful for journaling now and the desire to become better at journaling and for the example sons have set for me. (Fun detail….I have a 49er board on Pinterest. Yes, your mom still has a sense of humor.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

