Am I Missing God’s Help Because I Don’t Know What To Look For?

moses-parts-the-red-seaLet me start by saying that, yes, I know God parted the Red Sea. Yes, I know He knocked down the walls of Jericho. I know this stuff. But I want to share with you something about those stories…

Those huge things are the exceptions…

That doesn’t lessen their importance. It doesn’t lessen God’s power on earth. There’s no need to feel bad. I’m not saying that God won’t perform huge, powerful, undeniable things in our lives. He can. And does. But I’d like to show you the rule, as opposed to the exceptions. Why? Because if you and I are always looking for the massive miracles in answer to our prayers, we’re going to miss out on 99% of the proof that God does love us and does reach down and helps us, daily. 

Here’s the rule: God helps us through small and simple ways.

Here it is, scripturally:

Now ye may suppose that this is foolishness in me; but behold I say unto you, that by small and simple things are great things brought to pass; and small means in many instances doth confound the wise.

And the Lord God doth work by means to bring about his great and eternal purposes; and by very small means the Lord doth confound the wise and bringeth about the salvation of many souls. (Alma 37:6-7)

One lesson we can take away from these verses is that we can make small choices that will prove to have an impact in our life and in the lives of others. But an alternative truth is that God will often bless us in very small ways and those blessings will prove to be pivotal, powerful, and proof of His love for us. But, part of life is looking for those blessings.

As you and I pray for guidance, strength, patience, gifts, help, assistance and mercy, we ought to also pray for the gift to discern the small and simple answers to those prayers. As we start to notice the many–daily–blessings that God is sending in answer to our pleadings, we will grow in the knowledge that God knows us and our families very personally. Very personally. Very intimately. Every detail.

He is there. He does know us. He does know you. We’ve had proof of that divine love today. And we’ll have it tomorrow. I can promise that.

Be Encouraging…

BJM

Leave a Reply

