Feeling Peace Before the Trial is Over…

If you’re like me, and you’re in the middle of struggling through a trial, you expect the following to happen:

1. A trial emerges in your life.

2. You begin to struggle.

3. You begin to ask for help from God.

4. After some time, and through a combination of your efforts and God’s mercy, the trial ends.

5. You feel peace.

That happens a lot. But I think there is a different possible equation. In fact, it may be a probable equation. It looks like this:

1. A trial emerges in your life.

2. You begin to struggle.

3. You begin to ask for help from God.

4. You feel peace.

5. After some time, and through a combination of your efforts and God’s mercy, the trial ends (or maybe it doesn’t).

Notice how four and five change places? What I like about this is that we may not need to wait until the trial is over to feel some peace and assurance of God’s love.

A struggling but faithful group of people were in bondage to a people who were making life miserable for them. They “exercised authority over them, and put tasks upon them, and put task-masters over them.” (Mosiah 24:9) In the midst of the trial and though they were still in “bondage”, a wonderful, peace-promoting promise came from the Lord:

And it came to pass that the voice of the Lord came to them in their afflictions, saying: Lift up your heads and be of good comfort, for I know of the covenant which ye have made unto me; and I will covenant with my people and deliver them out of bondage.

And I will also ease the burdens which are put upon your shoulders, that even you cannot feel them upon your backs, even while you are in bondage; and this will I do that ye may stand as witnesses for me hereafter, and that ye may know of a surety that I, the Lord God, do visit my people in their afflictions.

 And now it came to pass that the burdens which were laid upon Alma and his brethren were made light; yea, the Lord did strengthen them that they could bear up their burdens with ease, and they did submit cheerfully and with patience to all the will of the Lord. (Mosiah 24:13-15)

If we think that peace can only come outside of moments of trial, we won’t feel much peace in our lives. God can ease burdens even if He chooses not to remove them for the time being. We can, in the midst of trials, feel peace…

Be Encouraging…

BJM

These views are personal, and are not the official views of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints...
10 thoughts on “Feeling Peace Before the Trial is Over…

    1. BJM Post author

      Sister Murdock!!! How wonderful to hear from you from Africa! Our stake prays you and two all the time. Thanks for checking in!

      Reply
  1. Kristin Montero

    Just a few months ago I had an experience with this. My fourth baby was born 13 weeks early and had a 10 week stay in the NICU. God was very merciful and blessed me with peace and assurance during her hospital stay. It is truly humbling to recognize Heavenly Father’s hand with you in your trials. I wouldn’t have made it out so well without His love and peace. And by the way, my baby is now 8 months old and very happy and healthy!

    Reply
    1. BJM Post author

      Thanks for sharing Kristin. These are tough experiences, but I’m guessing there are some blessings we can’t experience any other way. I’m glad you child is doing so well. Blessings!
      Brian

      Reply
  2. Marc

    Brian, I saw the story you mentioned in the Deseret News and it helped spark my desire to start my own blog. I was hoping to get a few pointers on what I can do as I’m just starting out. Thanks so much for your example and for your efforts to do our Heavenly Father’s work! And thanks in advance for any help/advice!

    Reply
    1. BJM Post author

      Thank you! I’ll be posting about blogging this week and maybe there will be some tips there. Then, you and I can talk about some of the details if you’d like. 🙂
      Brian

      Reply
      1. Marc

        Thanks for doing the post on some “how to’s” for LDS blogging ! And you are exactly right about teaching seminary. I am currently still going through the hiring process…on to the final round of part time teacher this upcoming winter semester in Provo! What a long process! But I certainly I love every day I have to be able to teach!

Leave a Reply

