Jesus, My Mother, and Being Someone’s “Umbrella”…

I was wandering around Elaine Dalton’s Pinterest boards and found this:

umbrella

Be someone’s umbrella…

I hope you can see it sufficiently to read some of the words, especially the bottom where it says, “Be someone’s umbrella today”…

I’m not going to go on and on about how hard life is, how negative mortality can be, how unfair our days seem, etc. We all get it. What I don’t always get is that I can be somewhat protective for someone else when they’re struggling. The ultimate example was, of course, the Savior. In Acts, Luke reports this about Jesus:

“How God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Ghost and with power: who went about doing good, and healing all that were oppressed of the devil; for God was with him.” (Acts 10:38)

The famous part of the verse is the part describing Jesus “doing good.” Right behind comes a wonderful line: “…and healing all that were oppressed…” Think of the rain that was shielded by Jesus’ efforts to do good and heal. He did it with His hands, words, example, power, priesthood, and very being.

—–

Years ago I did a stupid thing. I won’t describe the thing I did or who I did it to. I still feel bad about it, and it really was years ago. I was caught, and busted, and the sentence was to clean up the mess I had made. I felt awful and stupid and very embarrassed while I was on my knees, scrubbing the poor choice off of the property of the family that had been the victim. I felt especially dumb because my mom and the other mom were standing there watching me work. That was lame (I wasn’t a particularly good worker). At one point in their conversation, the other mom started to say something along these lines: “No matter how hard your try as a parent, your children are going to do some bad things…”. She wasn’t being mean-spirited and I knew she liked me. I had spent a lot of time in their home and she was a great mom. She was right, in fact. I really had done a dumb thing even in the face of what my parents had taught.

I still felt bad. Not because of what that mom had said but because I had probably embarrassed my parents and let them down. As I was kneeling there, scrubbing and feeling bad, I heard my mom say, fairly firmly, “My son is a great young man. He may have made a poor choice, but he’s a great son.”

I kept scrubbing, but it would be an understatement to say that I felt better. I kind of felt like crying that kind of cry you cry when you are very relieved*. I felt so relieved that my mother was still proud of me. Things were going to be fine. I just needed to keep scrubbing and make better choices…

—–

So, today, there has to be something you can do for, say to, or even think about someone that can be umbrella-like. And, if needed, duck under someone’s umbrella if they offer it. No one likes feeling soaked…

Be encouraging…

BJM

*Let the record state, I didn’t cry. Pretty tough guy, right?

These views are personal, and are not the official views of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints...
3 thoughts on “Jesus, My Mother, and Being Someone’s “Umbrella”…

Leave a Reply

