Expanding Elder Holland’s Recent Talk to Other Aspects of Our Lives…

Copyright, Making Precious Things Plain

Copyright, Making Precious Things Plain

I’m afraid that Elder Holland’s recent landmark address on depression might be seen as a talk on, well, only depression. Doing that may cause us to miss out on some other doctrinal truths that are even more universally applicable, as well as some very encouraging council from an apostle.

Knowing that Elder Holland really is talking about depression during his talk, I still find the following idea something that affects almost everyone:

“Believe in miracles. I have seen so many of them come when every other indication would say that hope was lost. Hope is never lost. If those miracles do not come soon or fully or seemingly at all, remember the Savior’s own anguished example: if the bitter cup does not pass, drink it and be strong, trusting in happier days ahead.” (Elder Jeffrey R. Holland, “Like a Broken Vessel”, October 2013)

This kind of doctrine reminds me of an all-time favorite moment for me as a young husband and father. I was working on building a shed on the property of our first little home. It was not going well. It was more expensive than I had planned or had saved for. It was leaning, horribly (it still does). I had literally put the flooring on the roof and the roofing on the floor (long and boring story). As I worked, I worried. I worried about an endless list of things that a young father worries about. I was sitting on a stool in the half-finished shed tiredly listening to general conference when Elder Holland began speaking. He shared a beautiful story of when he was a young struggling father and then taught this hopeful, encouraging truth:

“Some blessings come soon, some come late, and some don’t come until heaven; but for those who embrace the gospel of Jesus Christ, they come. Of that I personally attest.” (Elder Jeffrey R. Holland, “An High Priest of Good Things to Come”, October 1999)

The best way to describe the feelings I felt as I listened to Elder Holland’s story and testimony is that my heart began to swell. I felt light. I felt hope. Nothing changed as far as the shed or the million other things I was worrying about; at least not that day. But they eventually resolved, the shed was built, life moved forward bringing with it unforeseen blessings.

One of the hardest (and most universal) parts of mortality is waiting. Waiting and praying and pleading and trusting the Lord and His timing. “Patiently enduring some things is part of our mortal education.” (Elder Jeffrey R. Holland, “Like a Broken Vessel”, October 2013) But I know the blessings come to those who “wait on the Lord” (Psalm 27:14).

Be encouraging…
BJM

These views are personal, and are not the official views of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints...
Leave a Reply

