The Critical Importance of a “Gospel-Centered Home”…

protestAlthough I have been actively involved in local politics over the years, I really don’t enjoy discussing politics. I mean, I’m usually quite optimistic, but I often feel discouraged when I study the current events and political landscape, and things seem to be slipping a bit each month. I’m sure not everyone feels this way, but I sometimes do.

In times past, it was fairly easy to determine “right” and “wrong” and differentiate between the two. That, then, made teaching your children right and wrong fairly straightforward (even if it was not easy). Those days seem to be coming to a close. Society is redefining many of the foundational ideas and truths that were once taken for granted. Family, marriage, morality, truth, the role of religion in society, roles and responsibilities, consequences, etc. These ideas, and many important others, are all in the process of being redefined by society. I’m sure there is a whole post on that…but I digress.

This makes being two things a bit harder: A Christian (and specifically, in my case, a Mormon) and a parent. And, of course, I’m both.

Recently, Elder Robert D. Hales shared an insight that is gave me pause to think:

robert-d-hales-large“In recent decades the Church has largely been spared the terrible misunderstandings and persecutions experienced by the early Saints. It will not always be so. The world is moving away from the Lord faster and farther than ever before. The adversary has been loosed upon the earth.” (Elder Robert D. Hales, “General Conference: Strengthening Faith and Testimony”, October 2013)

I’m over 40. That means I’m probably a half to a third through my mortal journey (depending on diet and exercise and luck…). I’m not worried about living the gospel in my life. I think that decision has been made. But I do find myself worrying about my children and grandchildren and the climate they’ll experiences as Christians and members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. My propensity to anxiety doesn’t help any of this…

This is why a statement by President Boyd K. Packer caught my attention:

“Parents today wonder if there is a safe place to raise children. There is a safe place. it is in a gospel-centered home.” (President Boyd K. Packer, “The Key to Spiritual Protection”, October 2013)boyd-k-packer-large

There are two parts to this idea. Part number one is the part about parents wondering (and worrying). I’ve analyzed that above.

Part number two is that the safety will be provided in a gospel-centered home. We may not live in a gospel-centered world. We don’t live in a gospel-centered country anymore. Many of us may not live in gospel-centered communities. But there is ample reason to create a gospel-centered home. President Packer doesn’t spend time in his talk defining the exact details of what a gospel-centered home is. Two thoughts on that, and they may seem to conflict. First off, there is no exact equation for a gospel-centered home. All homes and families are different, and you’ll find almost endless gospel-centered homes that don’t exactly look like each other (that’s good news, by the way). Secondly, all gospel-centered homes follow a pattern. And the pattern is explained and taught in every General Conference. Any information a family wants about creating and maintaining a gospel-centered home is easy to find and inspiring to study.

Which means, there is safety available to everyone….

Be encouraging,

BJM

These views are personal, and are not the official views of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints...
One thought on “The Critical Importance of a “Gospel-Centered Home”…

  1. Kylie

    “Parents today wonder if there is a safe place to raise children. There is a safe place. it is in a gospel-centered home.” (President Boyd K. Packer, “The Key to Spiritual Protection”, October 2013)

    This quote brought me to my knees this morning as I just happened to read one of your blog posts! Thank you for your thoughts. And thank you for the comfort that quote brought me.
    -kyliewheeler

    Reply

Leave a Reply

