Newspaper Article: “My Life is Average”

Here is an article from my column from May, 2010:

“My Life is Average”

There comes a moment in just about everyone’s life when they realize that their life is average. It is kind of a letdown, and kind of a relief. Maybe it doesn’t happen to everyone and I suppose it never dawned on Michael Jordan or the King of England, but for the rest of us, “average” is pretty good. We are a bit more successful in a few things than other people and our efforts can be considered a little underwhelming in other aspects of life. So, all in all, our lives are average. And average is good. Average is me. Or so I thought.

My son discovered a website where people post moments and events from their lives. Not big stuff. Not exciting stuff. Just stuff. People just post mundane events from their lives and the site ends up being a compilation of average events. The website is “www.mylifeisaverage.com” and apparently it is something of a hit. The point of this site “is to help people realize they aren’t alone in their averageness, and that normal need not share the same definition as dull. It’s a matter of perspective.” (www.wvgazette.com, Feb. 20, 2010) Here are two examples:

“Today I saw a commercial for the Snuggie. I thought it was stupid idea but I couldn’t change the channel because I was under a blanket and I didn’t want my arms to get cold. MLIA.”

“Today, I met a girl named Unique. She has an identical twin sister. No one else thought it was funny. MLIA.”

I suggest you go spend some time reading My Life Is Average. The more you read, the less average you feel. Seriously, if you spend ten minutes on this site, it will dawn on you that people took time to submit their experiences, other people took time to vote on them, and then the website people took time to post them. And the experiences being posted are really, really average. You’re life beats that. Trust me.

I’ve rolled down a flight of stairs. I’ve woken up on a “clothing-optional” beach (that’s not where I went to sleep, and I left quickly). I crashed a motorcycle. I had a rabbit that was murdered by another rabbit (still under investigation). I was almost struck my lightening. My cell phone was killed at the local county fair. I smashed a car windshield with a water balloon. I was once suspended for getting into a fistfight with a water fountain (I lost the fight, but the school reinstated me). Compared to My Life is Average, my life is a feature-length film. Part comedy, part thriller, part drama, and part documentary. And so is yours.

But, in the spirit of this new-found website:

“Today I tried to think of something to write for the local paper. I couldn’t come up with anything. So I kind of wrote about nothing. I think I’m starting a pattern. MLIA.”

Leave a Reply

